2011 Aurealis Award shortlist

March 20th, 2012

Excellent news – City of Lies has been shortlisted for the 2011 Aurealis Awards (fantasy and science fiction). This is the one that Museum of Thieves won last year, so it’s very exciting to be shortlisted again. But the competition is tough! Here’s the whole children’s novel shortlist. You’ll notice that my Australian publishers, Allen & Unwin, have four out of the five books – which is just as it should be, because they are such brilliant publishers to work with.

CHILDREN’S FICTION (told primarily through words)

The Outcasts by John Flanagan (Random House Australia)
The Paradise Trap by Catherine Jinks (Allen & Unwin)
“It Began with a Tingle” by Thalia Kalkapsakis (Headspinners, Allen & Unwin)
The Coming of the Whirlpool by Andrew McGahan (Allen & Unwin)
City of Lies by Lian Tanner (Allen & Unwin)

The winner will be announced on Saturday 12th May.


0 thoughts on “2011 Aurealis Award shortlist

  1. Lilli says:

    It would be great to see the City of Lies to win Awards !
    It is a very good book!

    From Lilli

    1. Lian says:

      Thanks Lilli. It’s always nice to win things. But I don’t really expect to win this one twice in a row.

  2. Hannah says:

    I hope it will win, I loved the book very much as the first! 🙂

    1. Lian says:

      Thanks Hannah. I’d love to win it a second time!

  3. Ellen M says:

    Congratulations on being shortlisted!! It’s also terrific to hear that you have a great publisher. Quite impressive for them to have four of their published novels on a short list of five selections!

    1. Lian says:

      Thanks Ellen. A & U are really very impressive. They’re not huge by international standards, but regularly win the Australian Publisher of the Year Award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow Lian on Facebook, Instagram & Goodreads